nullnull



Canadian Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists

Helping Canadians Reduce Radon Risk

Radon and Real Estate in Canada

  • 29 Apr 2020
  • 2:30 PM - 4:00 PM
  • Online

Registration


Registration is closed

Radon and Real Estate in Canada

Wednesday, April 29, 2020

4pm NDT; 3:30pm ADT; 2:30pm EDT; 1:30pm CDT; 12:30pm MDT/CST; 11:30am PDT

10 mins: Introduction and Welcome

25 mins: Radon, Real Estate and Short Term Testing – Pam Warkentin, Erin Curry and Jeff LeBlanc

5 mins: Q&A

25 mins: Radon in Real Estate: Transforming BC's Indoor Environments – Noah Quastel

5 mins: Q&A

Radon Olympics #5: Members Submissions

20 mins: Discussion on Radon and Real Estate in Canada


About the presentations...

Title: Radon, Real Estate and Short Term Testing


Abstract: 18 months ago, CARST released a guideline on how to include radon testing in a real-estate transaction. In the ensuing year, CARST has gathered feedback from radon stakeholders on how the guideline is being used in the real world, and what changes would be helpful. Other new research has been made public this year that provides new data on the topic of short-term testing versus long-term testing, and it is interesting to interpret this new data through the lens of CARST's guideline. 

Presenters: Pam Warkentin, CARST Executive Director, Erin Curry, CARST Regional Director and Jeff LeBlanc, Chair of CARST’s Real Estate Committee


Title: Radon in Real Estate: Transforming BC's Indoor Environments

Abstract: In 2019 we researched the role of radon in real estate in BC. We compared policy and legislation in European countries, American states, and Canadian provinces. We examined ethical principles and policy reasons for addressing radon in real estate and reviewed existing academic literature on the topic. We compared BC’s current radon practices to other places, and how, within BC, radon compares to other environmental contaminants in property. We conducted an online survey of BC realtors, and 7 workshops/webinars. This presentation will present our empirical findings and recommendations for policy action.

Presenter: Noah Quastel is the Director, Law and Policy, BC Lung Association. He has a PhD in human geography is a practicing lawyer and a specialist in radon law and policy.


© 2011-2020 Canadian Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists (CARST/ACSTR). All rights reserved.

CARSTs Terms and Conditions                       CARST Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software