nullnull



Canadian Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists

Helping Canadians Reduce Radon Risk

  • For Homeowners
  • The Need for Social Science in Radon Risk Communication

The Need for Social Science in Radon Risk Communication

  • 24 Mar 2021
  • 5:00 AM - 10:30 AM
  • online

The Need for Social Science in Radon Risk Communication

THE AIM OF THE SEMINAR IS TO HIGHLIGHT THE NEED FOR SOCIAL SCIENCE TO SUPPORT RISK COMMUNICATION.

Join a open digital seminar, held in English on ZOOM

March 24th, 2021

10.00 - 15.30 (Sweden Time)

(2am PDT, 3am MDT/CST, 4 am CDT, 5 am EDT, 6am ADT, 6:30am NDT)

We seek to discuss the following questions based on lessons learnt from radon:
What are the challenges for evidence-based risk communication? What type of social science would benefit risk communication? And how do we make holistic, humble and honest experts in risk communication? 

Programme

Part 1. Setting the stage for radon risk communication in a Swedish context

10.00 Kristina Stenström, Lund University – Welcome and introduction to the Swedish national plan for radon

10.20 Swedish Agencies on communication challenges. Presentations by invited representatives:

  • Joakim Thunborg, Swedish National Board of Housing, Building and Planning (Boverket)
  • Cecilia Jelinek, Geological Survey of Sweden (Sveriges Geologiska Undersökning)
  • Larisa Mileshina, Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (Strålsäkerhetsmyndigheten)

Part 2. Evidence-informed radon risk communication

11.00 Frederic Bouder, University of Stavanger – The quest for evidence-informed risk communication on radon and the Potsdam manifesto

11.15 Ullrika Sahlin, Lund University – Using the relational theory of risk to understand radon risk communication in a Swedish context

Discussion

11.45 Tanja Perko, Belgian Nuclear Research Centre – Cutting-edge radon risk communication and behaviour of people under radon risk: preliminary results of the RadoNorm project

12.00 Geertje Schuitema, University College Dublin – Integrating behaviour science in radon policy

Discussion

Lunch

Part 3. Risk communication as a scientific field

13.45 Mary Kay Rayens, University of Kentucky, (Conley, N., Haneberg, W.C., Stanifer, S., Wiggins, A.T., and Hahn, E.J.) – Using geologically-based radon potential maps to convey lung cancer risk

14.00 Christopher Rääf, Lund University – What do we teach radiation experts about risk communication

14.15 Ragnar Löfstedt, Kings College London – A passion about risk communication

14.30 Dominic Balog-Way, Cornell University – The evolving field of risk communication

14.50 Final discussion with all speakers and representatives from Swedish agencies (moderator Ragnar Löfstedt)

15.30 Concluding remarks Ullrika Sahlin

 


The program and how to register is found at this page

https://www.pi.lu.se/en/themes/expert/need-social-science-radon-risk-communication

Presented by:  Ullrika Sahlin, Lund University, Sweden

on behalf of the Lund University Pufendorf IAS Theme EXPERT: The radiation safety expert in a post-trust era.

 

© 2011-2020 Canadian Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists (CARST/ACSTR). All rights reserved.

CARSTs Terms and Conditions                       CARST Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software